(Cedar Rapids, IA  July 17 2016)—Friday June 17 was “Iowa Donor Network Night” at Cedar Rapids’ historic Hawkeye Downs Speedway. Four of the regular Hy-Vee Racing series divisions were joined by the Quest International Mid-American Stock Car Series.

            Joining a slimmed down Performance Concepts Late Model field was Cedar Rapids native and current NASCAR Xfinity Series driver Joey Gase who was on hand in support of the Iowa Donor Network. Gase was back in Iowa for the Xfinity Series race at Iowa Speedway.

            After finishing third in the heat, Gase started fourth in the feature, moved into the lead on lap two and was never seriously challenged the rest of the way in the 15-lap Performance Concepts Late Model feature.  Brian Gibson made several runs at Gase but never could draw closer than a couple car lengths as the laps ticked off.

            Gibson finished second followed by Brad Osborn in third. Brian Allen posted a fourth place run in his first outing of the season and Scott Siems was fifth.

            The Quest Industrial Mid-American Stock Car Series did battle on the Hawkeye Downs half-mile Friday night with a host of familiar names on the entry sheet.       

            Ryan Gutknecht of Oak Creek, WI found himself in victory lane at the conclusion of the 40-lap feature for that division. Gutknecht chased Kenny Joosten for the majority of the race keeping heavy pressure on Joosten and waiting for an oprnming. Jossten bobbled a bit with nine laps to go and Gutknecht ducked underneath and into the lead.

Joosten held on to finish second with fast qualifier Dan Gilster finishing third. Bill Prietzel was fourth and Scott Dunning placed fifth.

Dallas Chandler earned a hard-fought win in the Miller Time Hornets edging out Todd Ness for his fourth win of the season. Ness finished second and Drew Nickell crossed the stripe in third. Kurt Bohnsack scored fourth in his first appearance of the season.

The Anderson Automotive Hobby Stock feature was a wild affair with Jim Hanson eventually earning his fifth trip to victory lane. Matt Lacoursiere led the way early with Kandi Floyd leading several laps before Hanson squeezed into the lead on lap seven. The field bunched due to a caution with six laps to go but Hanson was able to pull away on the restart to secure the win. Scott Siems scored second and Kandi Floyd was third.

Austin Slabaugh earned his first-ever Dublin City pub INEX Legends Feature win after holding off Kevin Korsmo for a good share of the  25 lap feature. Korsmo repeatedly tried to bolster enough momentum for an outside pass but each time Slabaugh was able to maintain his hold on first place.  Cole O’Brien, Matt Blake, and Sammy Smith filled out the top five behind Slabaugh and Korsmo.



HEAT- 1.(72) Brad Osborn 2.(17) Brian Gibson 3.(35) Joey Gase 4.(43)Scott Siems 5.(52) Brian Allen 6.(3) Dave McCalla  7.(76) Chad Siems

FEATURE 1. (35) Joey Gase, Cedar Rapids; 2.(17) Brian Gibson, Walford; 3.(72) Brad Osborn, Janesville; 4. (52) Brian Allen, Hiawatha; 5. (43) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 6.(3) Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 7. (76) Chad Siems, Shellsburg



HEAT 1- 1. (16) Todd Ness 2. (01) Derek Parrott 3. (6) John Ness 4. (9) James Montgomery 5. (72) Ethan Parrott 6. (47) Curt Gibs

HEAT 2- 1. (4) Kurt Bohnsack 2. (3) Dallas Chandler 3. (87) Drew Nickell 4. (44) Troy Scott 5. (76) Lucas Foster 6. (1A) Logan Foye 7. (14) Tom Blum

FEATURE- 1. (3) Dallas Chandler, Cedar Rapids; 2. (87) Drew Nickell, Cedar Rapids; 3. (4) Kurt Bohnsack, Ely; 4. (76) Lucas Foster, Cedar Rapids; 5. (01) Derek Parrott, Marion; 6. (6) John Ness, Cedar Rapids; 7. (9) James Montgomery, Cedar Rapids; 8. (47) Curt Gibbs, Cedar Rapids; 9. (16) Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids; 10. (44) Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids; 11. (72) Ethan Parrott, Marion; 12. (1A) Logan Foye, Marion DNS- (14) Tom Blum


HEAT 1- 1. (54) Jason Sherman 2.(14J) Jacob Floyd 3.(1) Scott Siems 4. (12) Brandon Herb 5.(2) Matt Lacoursiere 6. (11) Brian Bries 7. (54H) Dale Sherman

HEAT 2- 1.(07) Jim Hanson 2.(12K) Kandi Floyd 3.(88) Gerald Hall 4. (8) Braxton Franks 5. (41) Jasen Freeman 6. (43) Ed O’Brien 7. (3) Chris Rollinger

FEATURE 1. (07) Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 2.(1) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 3. (12K) Kandi Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 4. (41) Jasen Freeman, Cedar Rapids; 5.(54) Jason Sherman, Marengo; 6. (88) Gerald Hall, Cedar Rapids; 7. (43) Ed O’Brien, Cedar Rapids; 8. (14J) Jacob Floyd, Cedar Rapids; 9. (2) Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 10. (3) Chris Rollinger, Cedar Rapids; 11. (8) Braxton Franks, Cedar Rapids; 12. (54H) Dale Sherman, Marengo; 13. (11) Brian Bries, Norway; 14. (12) Brandon Herb, Marion


HEAT 1- 1. (6) Austin Slabaugh 2. (25) Cole O’Brien 3. (10) Mark Ironside 4.(66) Gary Dyer 5.(99) Dennis Diercks 6.(17) Sydney Henderson

HEAT 2- 1. (88) Matt Blake 2.(52) Kevin Korsmo 3.(12) Sammy Smith 4.(95) Al Diercks 5.(16) Mer Slabaugh 6.(13) Stacy Olson

FEATURE 1. (6) Austin Slabaugh, Kalona; 2.(52) Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 3. (25) Cole O’Brien, Cedar Rapids; 4. (88) Matt Blake, Cedar Rapids; 5. (12) Sammy Smith, Des Moines; 6. (10) Mark Ironside, Swisher; 7. (95) Al Diercks, Davenport; 8. (99) Dennis Diercks, Eldridge; 9. (66) Gary Dyer, Blugrass; 10. (13) Stacy Olson, Cedar Rapids; 11. (16) Mer Slabaugh, Kalona; 12. Sydney Henderson, Walford




FASH DASH HEAT – 1. (23) Dan Gilster 2. (5) Bill Prietzel 3.(132) Scott Dunning 4.(10) Bobby Gutknecht

HEAT 2- (01) Ryan Gutknecht 2.(74) Rick Tackman, Jr. 3.( 47) Kenny Joosten 4.(00) Mark Brooner 5. (19) Geoff Vezain 6. (44) George Schultz

FEATURE 1.(01) Ryan Gutknecht, Oak Creek, WI; 2.(47) Kenny Joosten, Wonder Lake, IL; 3. (23) Dan Gilster, West Salem, WI; 4. (5) Bill Prietzel, Richfield, WI; 5.(132) Scott Dunning, LaGrange, IL; 6. (10) Bobby Gutknecht, Oak Creek, WI; 7. (44) George Schultz, Bristol, WI; 8. (74) Rick Tackman, JR., Waukesha, WI; 9. (19) Geoff Vezain, Ottawa, IL; 10. (00) Mark Brooner, Tomah, WI