Recap: 2018 Kicked Off Strong

Although fans had to wait an extra couple weeks for the first race of 2018, it was worth the wait as they saw competitive racing across all five weekly series, plus the AIRS Vintage Series which made their first of several appearances this year.


Arp in victory lane.

The night kicked off with the Vintage Series, which brought 10 cars to play in the quick 10 lap feature. Tim Arp grabbed the victory over Bart Miller and Brian Gade, who was the vintage track champion last year.


Next it was time for the McGrath Auto Hornets. Dallas Chandler started the season off right with both a heat and feature win over Troy Scott and Lucas Foster.


In the Anderson Automotive Hobby Stocks, reigning champion Jim Hanson snatched the win over Jeremy Floyd and Jasen Freeman. Kurt Bohnsack became involved in an incident during the race relegating him to a 10th place finish.


During intermission, fans were able to take a bus ride around the track, and children signed up for the Lil’ Racer Car Club on grandparents night.


The Bulltown Legends Series witnessed an 18 car field, which made the racing exciting all over the track, but tender for the leaders as they navigated traffic. Sammy Smith was able to narrowly hold off Baiden Heskett for the win. Defending champion, Austin Slabaugh, fell victim to a crash that took place just ahead of him, leaving a decent amount of damage to his car.


Houdek and family.

Although Cory Houdek did not have much faith in the borrowed motor currently in the car, it did not stop him from pulling into victory lane during the Miller Time Sportsmen race.


Finally, Griffin McGrath and Brody Willett dueled it out for the Waterloo Auto Parts Late Model victory. While McGrath stayed close to Willett, he was unable to pass him and the teenager led wire-to-wire for the victory.


You can find a full list of results here: Results

An updated look at the points standings can be found here: Points