season champs


(Cedar Rapids, IA- 8/21/2015)—The regular Hawkeye Downs Speedway racing season came to a close Friday night with the crowning of five season champions in the Hy-Vee Racing Series.

The Barron Motor Supply Season Championships put the lid on the 90th season of points racing at Hawkeye Downs Speedway.

Prior to racing the Lil’Racer Car Club and Hawkeye Downs drivers teamed up for “Driver Trick or Treat Night” which allowed all fans on the track for autographs and to talk to the drivers and see the cars up close. Kids also got an early chance to “trick or treat” as the drivers handed out goodies.

Drew Nickell picked up his first career feature win in the Miller Time Hornets feature after starting on the pole and outrunning point leader Dallas Chandler. Chandler rolled a four to set the invert for the field.

Caution bunched the field with three laps remaining but Nickell got a good restart, held the bottom line and kept Chandler at bay for the final circuits. Brad Burhite finished third in the car normally driven by Ethan Parrott.

Dallas Chandler was crowned season champion.

Nathan Ballard won yet another Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stock feature Friday night capping an outstanding season and earning the season championship.  Ballard rolled a three to set the invert for the feature and it only took one lap to claim the lead and the eventual win.

The race was slowed by a series of cautions but Ballard had little trouble pulling away from the field on each restart. Finishing behind Ballard were Braxton Franks and Gerald Hall.

The Dublin City Pub INEX Legends feature saw Kevin Korsmo take the feature win and the points title in a caution filled race. Cole O’Brien led much of the race before he and the second place car of  Brady Fox-Rhode made contact  with two laps remaining putting Korsmo on point with his closest challenger in the points race, Brody Willett restarting in second.

Korsmo maintained the point to the checkered flag with Willett finishing second and Austin Slabaugh third.

Nathan Ballard scored his second feature win of the night in Mountain Dew Sportsmen after taking the lead on lap six. He surrendered the lead briefly to point champion Dave McCalla on the next lap but quickly regained the point for good one lap later propelling him to his fourth double feature win of the season.

Jim Hanson finished second and Bob Ahrendsen was third.

Finally, in Carpetland USA Late Models presented by Performance Concepts,  Tim Plummer posted a flag-to-flag run in the 25-lap nightcap, outrunning season point champion Brian Gibson for the feature win.  Gibson battled with Brad Osborn for the second slot during the first half of the race and while he did gain ground on Plummer he ran out of laps to challenge for the lead.

Gibson finished second ahead of Brody Willett.

There is still one more racing event at Hawkeye Downs this year with the Coors Light Summer Shootout slated for Saturday night, September 5.  That race features the ARCA Midwest Tour Late Models, the Mid-American Stock Car Series and INEX Legends.



FEATURE (20 laps) 1. (29) Nathan Ballard, Marengo (Season Points Champion); 2. (8)Braxton Franks, Cedar Rapids; 3. (14) Gerald Hall, Cedar Rapids; 4. (54) Jason Sherman, Marengo; 5. (12) Brandon Herb, Marion; 6. (9) Jayson Scott, Cedar Rapids; 7. (1) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 8. (3) Matt Hudspeth, Granger; 9. (41) Jasen Freeman, Cedar Rapids; 10. (54H) Shane Sherman, Williamsburg; 11. (2) Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 12. (11) Brian Bries, Norway


FEATURE (15 laps) 1. (87) Drew Nickell, Cedar Rapids; 2. (3)Dallas Chandler, Cedar Rapids (Season Points Champion); 3. (01) Brad Burhite, Cedar Rapids; 4. (16) Todd Ness, Cedar Rapids; 5. (86) Lucas Foster, Cedar Rapids; 6. (B7 ) Brad Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 7. (47) Brenda Meek, Ely; 8. (4) Kurt Bohnsack, Ely; 9. (1A) Rob Aimers, Cedar Rapids; 10. (44) Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids



FEATURE (25 laps) 1. (52) Kevin Korsmo, Atkins (Season Points Champion); 2. (00) Brody Willett, Alburnett; 3. (16) Austin Slabaugh, Kalona; 4. (10) Mark Ironside, Swisher; 5. (88) Matt Blake, Cedar Rapids; 6. (44s) Nelson Stewart, Avon, IN; 7. (01) Tim Goettsch, Bettendorf; 8. (25) Cole O’Brien, Cedar Rapids; 9. (95) Al Diercks, Davenport’ 10. (66) Gary Dyer, Bluegrass; 11. (26) Will McCully, Rochester, MN; 12. (77) Warren Ropp, Kalona; 13. (99) Dennis Diercks, Eldridge; 14. (71) Mark Greb, Mt. Vernon; 15. (13) Stacy Olson, Cedar Rapids; 16. (4) Brady Fox Rhode, Loretto, MN



FEATURE (20 laps) 1. (29) Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 2. (88) Jim Hanson, Cedar Rapids; 3. (6x) Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 4. (83) Ben Glascock, Indianola; 5. (3) Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids (Season Points Champion) 6. (7) John Johnston, Victor; 7. CJ Van Horn, Marengo: 8.(9) Kevin Franks, Cedar Rapids; 9. (35) Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha; 10.(36) Jeremy Clement, Cedar Rapids 



FEATURE 1. (74) Tim Plummer, Norway; 2. (17) Brian Gibson, Walford (Season Points Champion) 3. (00) Brody Willett, Alburnett; 4. (72) Brad Osborn, Janesville; 5. (43) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 6. (76) Chad Siems, Shellsburg; 7. (52) Brian Allen, Hiawatha